Colorado Ignition Interlock Laws
With the staggering number of alcohol fueled auto accidents in our nation today, there has been a movement to enact more stringent laws and punishments for individuals who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol. With close to 28,000 DUI arrests in the state in 2008, Colorado has found itself at the forefront in this new movement to limit DWIs and prevent those who have been arrested on Colorado DUI charges from repeating their offenses.
For a first DWI offense in Colorado, the driver will lose their license for 9 months, with the option after one month to install an ignition interlock device and receive a restricted license. The ignition interlock law came into effect in Colorado on January 1st, 2007. It requires all drivers who test over 0.17 BAC (blood alcohol content) to install and drive with an interlock device in their car for at least two years after your license is un-suspended. Repeat offenders may be required to have the interlock system for up to five years. If a driver has more than one DUI offense in a 5 year period, an offender must install ignition interlock devices on the vehicles that person drives and is required to hold a restricted license for at least 1 year prior to full license reinstatement.
A Colorado DWI offender who has had his driving privileges revoked for more than 1 year is eligible for early license reinstatement with driving restrictions with the use of an ignition interlock device. The restrictions remain in effect for “the longer of one year or the total time period remaining on the license restraint prior to early reinstatement.”
Requirements for entrance into the early reinstatement program include residency in Colorado, the offender must currently have their driving privileges suspended or denied for an alcohol related restraint that is longer than a year in length, and offenders who have completed all other court ordered probationary requirements, like completion of substance abuse classes and therapy.
An organization called the Driver Services Section determines ultimate eligibility in the program. For more information on your eligibility, you can contact Driver Services at (303) 205-5613 and request analysis for early reinstatement. Drivers must call back for the determination and the eligibility date if applicable.
Any Interlock restricted driver who either drives a non-equipped vehicle or attempts to circumvent the proper functioning of the device is subject to a license revocation with no driving for at least 1 year.
Regardless of your specific situation, the Ignition Interlock specialists at Smart Start of Colorado can help you. Our service offers the rental, installation and maintenance of ignition interlock devices to those individuals in Colorado who wish to get a reinstated license, have been forced to have an IID installed on their vehicle due to multiple DWI arrests, or for those families who wish to have an IID installed onto a minor or loved ones automobile. Our offices deal with people in the same situation you are in on a daily basis. We are able to answer questions regarding your license restrictions, your court or Colorado motor vehicle mandated requirements, and of course, any questions you may have about the device itself.
Smart Start of Colorado has helped thousands of individuals adhere to court orders and successfully separate drinking from driving. We can help you during this very difficult time as well. Contact us online today or at 800-880-3394 for more information on our Colorado Ignition Interlock Device Locations and services.