North Carolina Ignition Interlock Laws
North Carolina has some of the highest rates of DWIs and drunk driving fatalities in the United States. In 2008, more than 27,000 people were arrested for DWI offenses and more than 500 people dying from drunk driving accidents that same year. Despite North Carolina’s status as one of the worst states when it comes to drunk driving statistics, the state is hardly alone. Alcohol impaired driving is a national issue. One person is killed every 40 minutes due to drunk driving, equating to nearly 13,000 people being killed in alcohol impaired crashes in 2007. Despite new legislation and increased law enforcement response, this number has remained stable for almost two decades starting in the mid 1990’s.
Like all states across the country, North Carolina has turned to stricter laws and punishments for DWIs to help arm law enforcement and DWI courts with the ammunition they need to curtail drunk driving in their states. One way they do this is to require the use of Blood Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices (BAIIDs). IIDs successfully separate drinking from driving by not allowing individuals who have been drinking to start their automobiles. This is especially useful in curtailing the drunk driving of habitual DWI offenders. A dangerous segment of the population that tend to be involved in the worst of all DWI accidents. In fact, many drivers involved in fatal alcohol-impaired-driving crashes have been arrested previously for driving while intoxicated (DWI). In 2007, drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 grams per deciliter or higher in fatal crashes were eight times more likely to have a prior conviction for driving while impaired than were drivers with no alcohol (NHTSA, 2008a).
North Carolina DWI statues have mandated license suspensions attached to them. Depending on the severity of the charges and if they are a DWI offenders first, the length of the suspension may vary. Before a driver’s license can be reinstated, the courts may required an IID be installed on the auto for a period of time. This requirement is mandatory if the BAC was greater than .16 or if the person is a second or subsequent offender (within 7 years).
Ignition Interlock requirements are as follows:
1 year for a license revocation of 1 year
3 years for a license revocation of 4 years
7 years if the license was permanently revoked but the court has indicated that it can be restored.
Smart Start of North Carolina employs technicians and staff that are well versed in the newest laws and statutes regarding IIDs, so we can be a great source of information for clients. Navigating the complex minefield of laws, rules, and regulations following a DUI can be daunting. We deal with the rules, courts, and forms that are necessary for adhering to court ordered requirements on a daily basis and we can make sure that you are following all of your requirements, while making sure you do not run afoul of the law.
Smart Start of North Carolina is here to help you. Fill out our online appointment form for more information on how we can help get you back on the road, bringing you another step closer to putting your Driving While Intoxicated offense behind you. We are here 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, ready to serve you and answer all of your questions. Call us at one of our North Carolina IID locations at 800-880-3394.